By Lance Jordan, Sports Editor


The Great Lakes Valley Conference Men’s Golf Championship was held last week, on April 23–25, in Springfield, MO. University of Missouri–St. Louis men’s golfers faced off against 13 other teams.

The championship hosts a 54-hole event, with the leading four teams following stroke play and finishing in medal play to determine the conference champion. On Tuesday, 36 holes were played, as the Tritons drew an opening day score of 580 (288 – 292), leading the championships by a nine stroke lead. Drury and Indianapolis tied with 589 each, while Bellarmine finished out the top four with 593.

The Tritons also had the individual leader of the day as Julien de Poyen, senior, international business, was able to accumulate a lead of 142 (68-78). Jose Acevedo, senior, international business, was also able to get a score of 144 (74 – 70), placing him in a threeway for the number four spot.

They continued their lead on Wednesday after 18 holes; UMSL with 871 (288 – 292 – 291) finished with a seven stroke lead over second place Indianapolis 878 (290 – 299 – 289). The Tritons secured a championship finals match for the fifth straight year, heading into April 25.

Individually, Julien de Poyen placed third for the day with a score of 216 (68 – 74 – 74). Markus Lindberg, junior, international business, and Acevedo both tied for fourth, with a score of 218 each.

Unfortunately, the Tritons could not obtain a third straight GLVC championship Thursday. Facing Bellarmine in a semifinals round matchup, the Tritons dropped a 3 – 2 decision. Bellarmine was able to take the first matchup with 71 – 73. Meanwhile, Lindberg took the second matchup with 77 – 81. Matt Barry, senior, business administration, gave UMSL its second matchup win in the fourth match, but the team could not  take the lead during the fifth match.

Claiming the honor of Number One Seed in the Midwest, UMSL represents one of four GLVC teams at the regional level; the others include Indianapolis, Bellarmine, and Maryville. Other teams from the Midwest Region include: Grand Valley State, Ferris State, Saginaw Valley State, Wayne State, Tiffin, and Trevecca Nazarene.

The Central Region teams include: Central Missouri, Arkansas Tech, Central Oklahoma, Lindenwood, Henderson State, SW Oklahoma State, Washburn, Northeastern, Harding, and Mankato State.

The NCAA Midwest/Central Regional will be held on May 8–10 at Awarii Dunes Golf Course in Axtell, Nebraska. The NCAA Championship will be held May 22–26 at Reunion Resort in Orlando, Florida.