– Winners of 2013 St. Louis Film Critics Awards announced Monday, Dec. 16
PHOTO:  Chiwetel Ejiofor as “Solomon Northup” in 12 YEARS A SLAVE. Photo by Jaap Buitendijk; courtesy of Fox Searchlight © 2013


By Cate Marquis, A&E Editor for The Current

The St. Louis Film Critics Association, the professional film critic association in the St. Louis area, announced the winners of the 2013 St. Louis Film Critics Awards on Monday, December 16, 2013. The awards are given to recognize the best in cinema, particularly films shown in the St. Louis area during 2013. The winners are posted on the association’s website www.stlfilmcritics.org. Nominees are listed alphabetically.

The 2013 St. Louis Film Critics Award winners:

Best Film

“12 Years a Slave”

runner-up: “American Hustle”

Best Director

Steve McQueen (“12 Years a Slave”)

runner-up: Alfonso Cuaron (“Gravity”)

Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor (“12 Years a Slave”)

runner-up: Matthew McConaughey (“Dallas Buyers Club”)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett (“Blue Jasmine”)

runner-up: Meryl Streep (“August: Osage County”)

Best Supporting Actor

Jared Leto (“Dallas Buyers Club”)

runner-up: Will Forte (“Nebraska”)

Best Supporting Actress

Lupita Nyong’o (“12 Years a Slave”)

runner-up: June Squibb (“Nebraska”)

Best Original Screenplay

Spike Jonze (“Her”)

runner-up: David O. Russell and Eric Singer (“American Hustle”)

Best Adapted Screenplay

John Ridley and Solomon Northrup (“12 Years a Slave”)

runner-up: Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope and Martin Sixsmith (“Philomena”)

Best Cinematography

a tie –

Sean Bobbitt (“12 Years a Slave”) and Emmanuel Lubezki (“Gravity”)

Best Visual Effects

Tim Webber, David Shirk, Chris Lawrence and Neil Corbould (“Gravity”)

runner-up: Joe Letteri and Eric Saindon (“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”)

Best Original Musical Score

Arcade Fire (“Her”)

runners-up (tie): Steven Price (“Gravity”) and Mark Orton (“Nebraska”)

Best Soundtrack

T-Bone Burnett “Inside Llewyn Davis”

runner-up: Christophe Beck (“Frozen”)

Best Art Direction

Damien Drew, Ian Gracie and Michael Turner (“The Great Gatsby”)

runner-up: Austin Gorg (“Her”)

Best Animated Feature


runner-up: “The Wind Rises”

Best Art-House or Festival Film

– for artistic excellence in art-house cinema, limited to films that played at film festivals,

film series or had a limited-release here, playing only one to three cinemas.

“Short Term 12”

runners-up (tie): “Blue Is the Warmest Color” and “Frances Ha”

Best Comedy

a tie –

“Enough Said” and “The World’s End”

Best Documentary


runners-up (tie): “The Act of Killing” and “Stories We Tell”

Best Non-English Language Film

“Blue Is the Warmest Color”

runner-up: “Wadjda”

Best Scene

– favorite movie scene or sequence

“12 Years a Slave” – The near-hanging scene

runner-up: “Gravity” – The opening tracking shot


The mission of the non-profit St. Louis Film Critics Association is to promote appreciation of great cinema in St. Louis and to promote St. Louis as an area that appreciates great cinema. The member film critics review films for a variety of media, including print, radio, television and Internet in the Greater St. Louis area. SLFC also presents awards at the St. Louis International Film Festival and St. Louis Filmmakers Showcase, both presented by Cinema St. Louis.

Full disclosure note: Cate Marquis is a member of the St. Louis Film Critics Association.

© The Current